Friday, April 20, 2012

Why Four Gospels?

The gospels of Matthew, Mark, and Luke are referred to specifically as the Synoptic Gospels because they include many of the same stories, often in the same sequence, and similar wording.  The term synoptic comes from the Greek syn’, meaning "together", and optic’, meaning "seen.”   The most widely-known examples of gospel are the four canonical gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.  What is the purpose of four ‘gospels’ (meaning good news) of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John ?
The most plausible reason for this can be explained if these four gospels are viewed from each gospel’s thematic point.  Matthew highlights Jesus Christ as ‘King of the Jews’, Mark as ‘Servant ’, Luke as the ‘Son of man’ and John as the ‘Son of God’. 
Now, we need to do some matching work between the themes of four gospels with the descriptive images of the living creatures in Ezekiel 1 and Revelation 4.
Ezekiel 1:10-11
10Their faces looked like this: Each of the four had the face of a man, and on the right side each had the face of a lion, and on the left the face of an ox; each also had the face of an eagle. 11Such were their faces.
 These angels propelled the spaceship of the Lord.
Revelation 4:6-8
6 and before the throne there was like a sea of glass like crystal; and in the midst around the throne, four living creatures full of eyes in front and behind. 7 And the first living creature was like the lion, and the second living creature like the calf, and the third living creature had a face like man, and the fourth living creature was like the flying eagle. 8 And the four living creatures, each one of them having six wings, are full of eyes all around and within, saying without ceasing by day and night, "Holy, holy, holy, is the Lord God, the Almighty, who was and who is and who is coming."
Around the throne were four living creatures.  Living creatures is a translation of the Greek zw'/on (zo-on), which is from a root that means life.  The living creatures were angels with six wings, i.e. seraphs.  Since angelic rank is determined by the number of wings, the seraphs with six wings are the highest rank.  These angels have eyes all over their bodies and are very similar to the living creatures in the theophany of Ezekiel (Ezekiel 10:12).

If we match these two in the following, we can know better why the four gospels tell us about the Person and Work of the Lord Jesus viewed from different perspectives.

Creature’s  image in Ezekiel 1 & Revelation 4
King of the Jews
Son of man
Son of God

That’s all I know about the four gospels. Thank you for your time for God’s business, my family and friends.   Soli Deo Gloria, So be it!

No comments:

Post a Comment